Why I hate the word “Feminism”

I am a feminist.

That does not make me a misandrist. I do not hate men what-so-ever, the matter of fact I love men.

In university, one of my majors was called “women studies”. I’m going to have to disagree with the program name because we do NOT just learn about the discrimination that women have dealt with throughout the years. We learn about many aspects where an individual may be at a disadvantage due to living in a white- straight- male dominated society. The problem with naming the program this is the constant fear in mens eyes when you tell them that that is what you are studying. They automatically assume that you are some sort of misandrist. Excuse-me, no… Let me give you a little lesson on what feminism actually is.

Yes, women have come very far in regards to the gender side of things, but we are still not treated as equals to men. According to Business Insider a woman earns 79 cents to every dollar a man makes for the same job in the US. Not exactly equal yet, are we?

But wait! I still haven’t gotten a chance to explain myself further on what feminism and women studies actually is and what they teach you in university!

A feminist is someone who fights for equality in regards to many aspects such as; gender, gender-identity, sexual orientation, disability, race, age, and etc. Men and women can BOTH be feminists. A feminist is and can be anyone, regardless of gender, gender-identity, sexual orientation, disability, race, or age. As long as they believe that each minority group of each aspect who have the same job title and work ethic as themselves, deserve the same compensation. So naturally, yes I am a feminist because I do believe that everybody is entitled to the same compensations regardless of their “minority” features. And no, I am definitely not a misandrist.

Glad we got that all cleared up!

In my opinion, I feel like they should change this programs name. Maybe to equality and discrimination? Thats just an idea to get you thinking. Feel free to comment if you have any other ideas of names for these types of programs.

Hopefully one day, we will all be living in an equal world.

Love always,

One of your anonymous Total BITCH Move university students

Leave a Reply

